IDrive Reviews

IDrive logo
Truely score heart icon

3.1/5

# Online Cloud Storage Services

1,917 reviews

IDrive is an online cloud storage that enables you to securely store, backup, and access your files on multiple devices wherever you are in the world. It provides a fast, cost-effective, all-in-one service for your storage and backup needs. With IDrive’s user-friendly interface, automated backup, and restore solution, files for personal or business use can be managed and shared with minimal human intervention.

Review insights

We collect mass reviews about a product on various platforms, weed out suspicious reviews, and categorise them using our ever-growing algorithms. Learn more

Truely score

Truely score heart icon

3.12

from 1,917 analyzed reviews

Pros

Reviews with positive sentiment

-

Cons

Reviews with negative sentiment

-

Last updated today

Features

Storage

Free,Paid

User

Archiving

Backups

Manual,Automatic

File Size

Android Mobile App

iOS Mobile App

Windows Desktop App

Mac Desktop App

Free Storage

Drive Mapping

Drag-and-drop Syncing

Multi-User Account Access

Automatic Backups

Restoring Backups

File History Recovery

Server Backup

Computer Backup

Intrusion Detection

Ranking

Overall ranking

-1

Last updated today

IDrive Alternatives

Check more alternatives

About the seller

Seller

IDrive Inc.

Frequently Asked Questions

Truely is based on AI algorithms that are getting smarter every day.
What makes IDrive different?

Unlike other brands, IDrive doesn’t offer unlimited storage. Why is this an advantage you may ask? Because storing files limitlessly online can clog your Internet’s bandwidth. Performing backups to the cloud are painfully slow, and most users who pay for this unlimited storage spend weeks and months just to back up a fraction of their data. IDrive exclusively offers the IDrive Express, a hard drive that they’ll directly ship to you. You can seed the initial backup of all your data in this provided hard drive. The drive will then be returned to the company, so they can transfer the files to your online account — saving you from massive bandwidth usage during data transfers. This unique feature sets IDrive apart from its competitors, making it the best online cloud storage you could invest in.

Does IDrive offer free unlimited online cloud storage?

No. IDrive only offers a free plan that comes with a 5GB storage limit. However, if you wish to have a bigger storage size, you can always upgrade to their Personal or Business Plans with up to 12.5TB of storage space.

Do I just pay the difference for this month if I upgrade my plan?

Yes. You just need to pay the amount difference between the plans on a prorated basis if you decide to upgrade your plan in the middle of your subscription period. But remember that you will be charged the full amount for your chosen yearly plan if you change your billing cycle from monthly to yearly.

I forgot my private encryption key. What should I do?

You must remember that you and only you (not even IDrive systems and personnel) is just the one who has access to your private encryption key. It is not stored in the IDrive servers for your increased security. However, if you choose to use a default encryption key when signing in to your account for the first time, you don’t need to remember it because IDrive will set that encryption key for you.

I have received a quota overuse message. What should I do?

This means that you have used the allowed storage space on your current plan. If you wish to get more space, you should sign in to your IDrive account from the website and click the ‘Upgrade’ button and upgrade your plan. Otherwise, you need to delete some files.

Is it possible to restore the files that are accidentally deleted from my IDrive account?

Yes. All deleted files are moved to ‘Trash’ and not yet deleted permanently. If you want to restore your files, you can either move them to your IDrive account’s original location or restore them to your local computer. If there are still files in the ‘Trash’ that are not restored after 30 days of deleting it, it will get permanently deleted automatically.

I started backing up my photos a few hours back. Why isn't it backed up yet?

For photographers, videographers, and others who use online backup or cloud storage to back up a large number of their files, you have to make sure that you keep the application open till the backup is complete. Closing the app may pause the upload process of your files.

What is versioning?

Versioning means that the previous versions of your files are backed up to your account and are retained by IDrive. Accounts created before 11-07-2018 can restore up to 10 versions, while current accounts after the said date can restore 30 previous file versions.

Does versioning (previous versions of files) impact the available quota (storage space in my account)?

No. Versioning does not affect your storage requirement. Your available quota only pertains to the storage limit of your account’s data. Though the backup of previous file versions still requires additional space, it is not charged to your usage.

How does IDrive secure my data?

On file transfer and storage, IDrive secures your data through an industry-standard 256-bit AES encryption. Their world-class data centers store data that is encrypted using the encryption key that only you know.

Where is IDrive data stored?

IDrive has multiple world-class data centers that host applications and data. These data centers are built with a physical environment necessary to keep the servers up and running all the time. These top-class facilities have security features that include smoke detection and fire suppression systems, motion sensors, 24/7 secured access, video camera surveillance, and security breach alarms.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you agree to their use. Read for more info. Read more